Stages 8 - 10

Competition Time! These stages are designed to teach children the foundations of competitive swimming.  Skills such as tumble turns, dives and underwater techniques will be taught so children can continue their love of swimming whilst always learning something new.

Swimmers are encouraged to continue swimming lessons right up to stage 10.  This will allow children to learn all the skills required to take part in further aquatic disciplines once the Learn to Swim programme has been successfully completed.  Additional activities such as Water Polo*, Synchronised Swimming*, Competitive Swimming* and Diving* are all sports that can be explored further once your child is ready to move on from swimming lessons.  Just ask your teacher for further information, or use the link to contact us so we can signpost you to clubs in local and surrounding areas.

Learning objectives of each stage
Learn to Swim Stage 8
Welcome to Competitive Swimming! During this stage swimmers are taught the skills required to swim competitively. Even if your child doesn’t fancy racing quite yet, the skills developed during this stage will help them to become a stronger swimmer all round.
Learn to Swim Stage 9
Underwater Technique! This stage focuses on the importance of starts, turns and underwater skills needed to race. Teamwork is also important and the introduction of relay races will practiced.
Learn to Swim Stage 10
Ready to take on any swimming discipline! This final stage will allow your child to consolidate all of their learning from the previous 9 stages. Long distance achievement certificates will be accomplished, and children will have the opportunity to progress onto competitive club swimming, diving, water polo or synchronised swimming.


Color Skin

Header Style